You are here

Washington Reading Corps

A Partner of the Washington Service Corps

The mission of the Washington Reading Corps (WRC) is to improve reading abilities of young students across Washington through research-based tutoring tools and other supports for struggling readers. The WRC blends public, private and community resources to encourage and support struggling readers in pre-kindergarten through fourth grade. Initially created in response to the state’s low reading scores, the WRC now serves a critical role as an intervention to address reading achievement goals of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act and the priorities set forth by the Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction.

WRC AmeriCorps members serve in high-needs elementary schools, early learning centers and community-based organizations across the state. Members serve early learners and K–4 students, supporting improved literacy and reading proficiency. At early learning sites, WRC AmeriCorps members support kindergarten readiness in children, with a focus on literacy activities and use evidence-based tools to improve student achievement. At elementary sites, WRC AmeriCorps members provide reading tutoring to K–4 students identified as below grade-level benchmark in reading proficiency and in need of Tier II intervention, while also supporting broader literacy achievement. At the elementary level, WRC’s model consists of one-on-one and small group (3–6 students) tutoring sessions, 15–20 minutes a session, and at least three times a week. The WRC tutoring tool, Reading Power, was created in partnership with OSPI and is designed to supplement any school literacy development curriculum with basic supports for each grade level. Reading Power helps students who need an extra boost to supplement their school’s curriculum.

The program is administered through a partnership between the Washington Service Corps, a program of the Employment Security Department, and the Office of the Superintendent of Public Instruction (OSPI).


Learn more on becoming a Washington Reading Corps Member 

Learn more on becoming a Washington Reading Corps Partner

Contact Information: 
Ariel Kay, Outreach Manager
Number of AmeriCorps Members: 
Counties Served: 
Clark County
Cowlitz County
Grays Harbor County
Jefferson County
King County
Lewis County
Lincoln County
Mason County
Okanogan County
Pierce County
Skagit County
Skamania County
Snohomish County
Thurston County
Whatcom County