You are here

Serve Washington announces 2024 Washington State Volunteer Service Award winners

OLYMPIA—Serve Washington has announced the winners of its first ever Washington State Volunteer Service Awards.

A total of 14 awards were given out to groups and individuals across the state. The awards recognize many acts of kindness individuals, families, service groups and organizations perform in communities across the state of Washington. The awards were given to individuals and groups who performed volunteer activities during 2023.

“Serve Washington encourages all types of volunteerism, whether it’s formal service through an organization or informally helping out a friend or neighbor in need,” said Trish Almond, executive director for Serve Washington. “We believe volunteerism promotes bonds across various races, cultures, beliefs, backgrounds and experiences. Through these awards, we want to recognize people who address issues that face their communities through service while reflecting the great diversity of our state.”

The following people and organizations were given awards:

Click on the name of the group or individual to learn more about their service.

North Central region (Okanogan, Chelan, Douglas and Grant counties)

Group- Care Moses Lake
Individual – Diana Weddle

North Puget Sound region (King and Snohomish counties)

Volunteer program – Glory of Peace and Love
Individual – Rick Sipe

Northeast region (Ferry, Stevens, Pend Orielle, Lincoln and Spokane counties)

Group - Daughters of the American Revolution, Jonas Babcock Chapter
Individual - Sindhu Surapaneni

Northwest region (Whatcom, Skagit, San Juan and Island counties)

Individual – Katie Chugg

Peninsula/Coastal region (Clallam, Jefferson, Grays Harbor, Pacific and Kitsap counites)

Volunteer program - Clallam County Fire District 3 Community Emergency Response Team, CERT
Individual – George Holden

South Central region (Benton, Franklin, Kittitas, Klickitat, Walla Walla and Yakima counties)

Volunteer Program - Upper Kittitas County Senior Center Interim Board of Directors
Individual - Paul Stonemetz

South Puget Sound region (Mason, Thurston, Pierce and Lewis counties)

Group – Pierce County Community Engagement Task Force
Individual – Mattice Hoyt

Southwest region (Cowlitz, Skamania, Clark and Wahkiakum counties):

Individual – Daniel Sandor